STVM Science Students Shine at The Ohio State University

May 25, 2017

State Science Day was held on May 13, 2017, at The Ohio State University. A team of 19 students from St. Vincent-St. Mary High School qualified to attend. Out of the 14 students attending, 10 scored the highest rating of superior. Earning the rating of superior were Seniors: Joseph Conti, Patrick McFarland and Alexandria Oliverio; Juniors: Michael Chmura, Molly Haines, Olivia Janolo and Caroline Pier; Sophomores: Ava Beskitt, Nina Wolf and Fiona Gaffney. Earning the rating of excellent were Juniors: Rebecca Cabe and Chao Hu; Sophomore: Natalie Wammes and Freshman: Kirstin Pier. 

Some students also won special awards and /or scholarships. Sophomore Ava Beskitt won the Food Science Award, Honorable Mention $2000 scholarship to OSU for Food Science Major, Senior Joseph Conti won the Governor's Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in Biotechnology & Biomedical Technologies, 2nd place, $750 tuition scholarship for an Ohio School, Junior Chao Hu won the EWI Award, 1st place $100 and the Governor's Thomas Edison Award for Advanced Materials, 1st place Tuition scholarship for an Ohio School $1250, Caroline Pier won the Future Physician - Scientist Award, 2nd place $250 and Kirstin Pier won the Milt Austin Aquatic Science Award, 3rd place $50. 

This group of students did an awesome job representing St. Vincent- St Mary High School down in Columbus at State Science Day. They were one Superior away from winning the Harold C. Shaw School Award. Congratulations to all of our science students for their hard work, effort, and dedication.