National Honor Society

NHS Officers

President: Kevin Feezel
Vice President: Wenyao Yang
Secretary: Abby Volk
Treasurer: Clare Wagner

Download the NHS Calendar

Criteria for Membership

Juniors and seniors who have achieved at least a 3.5 accumulative grade point average will be notified in late September of their eligibility for membership and procedures to follow if they would like to pursue the selection process. New members will be selected by the faculty during a review process that evaluates their character, leadership and service to the school and community. A faculty council appointed by the Principal makes the final selection of students based on teacher reviews.

National Honor Society Induction Ceremony and Reception 

The St. Vincent-St. Mary High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 72 new members on Monday, October 24, 2016. A faculty council selected these students based on their accumulative point averages (a minimum 3.5) and faculty evaluations of their character, leadership, and service to the school and community. 

These new members joined the 58 current members. Chapter officers including President Kevin Feezel, Vice-president Wenyao Yang, Secretary Abigail Volk, and Treasurer Clare Wagner conducted the traditional candle lighting ceremony that emphasized the ideals of NHS. Guest speaker for the Induction Ceremony was Mrs. Stephanie Halaiko Sykes, member of the St. Vincent-St. Mary Class of 1996, who is currently a Neonatal Nurse Practitioner and co-Lead Advanced Practice Provider for the Akron Children's Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Units at Cleveland Clinic/Akron General, Summa City and Akron Children's main campus. 

Parents Club provided the funds for the pins that new members received from Principal Robert Brownfield and President Tom Carone. Following the induction ceremony, the veteran members hosted a reception for the new inductees and their families. The chapter advisor is Ms. Pam Godshalk. 

New members inducted include seniors Wil Beskitt, Mia Brady, Shannon Croghan, Ruihze Deng, Eva Gaspar, Meijin Li, Michael Martin, James Martucci, Kalie Oliver, Jamel Rushing, Cassandra Shaw, Daijah Taylor, Julia Thomas; juniors Joseph Berger, Amanda Brown, Rebecca Cabe, Essence Cain, Michael Chmura, Nicholas Corwin, Michael Dianetti, Loic Djomani, Tyler Eroshevich, Cameron Ervin, Christopher Flohr, Sara Foster, Erica Frazier, Madeline Gesquiere, Vincent Glidden, Nathan Gorbach, Joseph Graff, Gabriella Hagey, Molly Haines, Grace Hart, Sara Hauck, Kennedy Horrigan, Zichao Hu, Jalen Hurd, Olivia Janolo, Helena Krejsa, Brady Large, Leah Lisle, Jared Lloyd, Emma Lubes, Giavanna Maglione, Alice Mason, Kelsey McDowell, Sarah Minear, Alena Miskinis, Jared Musci, Caitlyn Norman, Sean O’Brien, Zachary Olson, Matthew Paydo, Joseph Perella, Caroline Pier, Emily Powell, Sydney Powell, Casey Rencevicz, Michael Rodgers, Peter Rybka, Andrew Schmitt, Liam Squire, Joanna Stecz, Lauren Strainer, Summer Swaino, Taylor Swaino, Shawn Tahajod, Scott Walter, Meredith Wammes, Emma White, Thomas Wilson, Xiaoge Zhang.

Chapter Advisor: Ms. Pam Godshalk

Meeting Time: First Thursday of month, 7:30-8:00 AM

Meeting Place: Room 256